Scarbrough Keeps Pike Co. Circuit Clerk Seat


By Brittany Bivins

Republican Jamie Scarbrough will hold on to the Pike County Circuit Clerk seat, defeating Democratic challenger Daryl Calhoun.

Scarbrough received just over 55 percent of the vote Tuesday, with Calhoun taking a little over 44 percent. As she heard the news, Scarbrough told supporters she was relieved that the long race was over, and she thanked her friends and family for their support. "It's been a very long, almost a complete year, that I've been going through this, so I'm glad it's over. My friends and my family are very grateful that it's over, but it's been a great journey," she said.

Scarbrough has worked in the clerk's office for 17 years. She was appointed clerk in 2010 after her predecessor retired.

In Pike County Commission races, Homer Wright defeated Walter Murphy in District 1. JImmy Barron won re-election to District 3 over challenger Samuel Lewis. In District 4, Ray Goodson defeated Samuel Flowers. In District 6, Joey Jackson took the majority of the vote over Doristine Sankey.

In the Pike County Board of Edcuation race for District 6, Chris Wilkes defeated Jim Knight by almost a thousand votes.