Jury Finds All Defendants In Corruption Trial Not Guilty


By Lisa Blackwell

After 6 days of deliberation, the jury in the retrial of the statehouse corruption trial deiivered not guilty verdicts on 27 counts for all six of the defendants.

The verdict was announced around 9 a.m. Wednesday.

McGregor; lobbyist Tom Coker; former Country Crossing casino spokesman Jay Walker; Sen. Harri Anne Smith, I-Slocomb; and former state Sens. Larry Means, D-Attalla, and Jim Preuitt, R-Talladega, were on trial accused of offering or accepting bribes in connection with a 2010 gambling bill.

Add a comment


Comment: 1000 Characters Left

WNCF and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the above comments or other interaction among the users. Comments are posted on site immediately and without station moderation. If you feel a comment is inappropriate you may flag it for review. For guidelines on flagging comments see our Terms & Conditions. We reserve the right to screen, refuse to post, remove or edit user-generated content at any time and for any or no reason in our absolute and sole discretion without prior notice, although we have no duty to do so or to monitor any Public Forum.